Why partner with The Learning Organisation?
A partnership with TLO will count as operational spend on the B-BBEE scorecard as Procurement, as a sub-set of the ESD Enterprise & Supplier Development pillar. Thus TLO’s B-BBEE credentials and its impact on the B-BBEE Scorecard is significant. As a 51% Black-Owned Level 2 supplier, the amounts spent with TLO will count as follows on the Procurement scorecard (Amended Generic Codes):

  • As an empowering Level 2 supplier, every Rand spent with TLO will be recognised at 125%
  • As an empowering supplier with at least 30% black female ownership, every Rand spent with TLO will be recognised on section 2.1.5 of the Procurement scorecard
  • As an empowering supplier with at least 51% black ownership, every Rand spent with TLO will be recognised on section 2.1.4 of the Procurement scorecard
  • As an empowering EME supplier, every Rand spent with TLO will be recognised on section 2.1.3 of the Procurement scorecard
  • As an empowering Level 2 supplier, every Rand spent with TLO will be recognised on section 2.1.1 of the Procurement scorecard
  • In addition, if a verifiable three-year contract is in place, enhanced recognition applies i.e. the recognisable B-BBEE spend will be multiplied with a factor of 1.2.
  • TLO itself also qualifies as a beneficiary for Supplier Development

Our most frequently asked questions

What is a Learnership?
Learnerships are a training programme that combines theory at a college or training centre with relevant practice on-the-job. There is no learnership if there is no on-the-job practice. The idea is that people really learn the “ins and outs” of an occupation by practicing all its aspects under the guidance of an experienced and qualified person. In order to become qualified themselves, learners will have to be assessed against occupational standards that have been agreed in advance by industry stakeholders. Learnerships are based on legally binding agreements between an employer, a learner and a Training Provider. This agreement is intended to spell out the tasks and duties of the employer, the learner and the Training Provider. It is designed to ensure the quality of the training and to protect the interests of each party. Employers can offer learnerships to their own employees or can recruit unemployed people for training. Current employees who are provided with learnerships are referred to as 18(1) learners. Unemployed people who are offered learnerships are known as 18(2) learners

What is a Skills Programme?
The short skills learning intervention has been designed as an occupationally based, short term learning programme. When successfully completed by the learner, it constitutes credits towards a qualification registered on the NQF. The Skills Programme comprises of a cluster of unit standards derived from the same qualification between 25 and 60 credits.
Source: http://www.serviceseta.org.za/index.php/learners/skills-programme

What is the NQF?
South Africa needed to create a national education and training system that provides quality learning, is responsive to the ever-changing influences of the external environment and also promote the development of the nation that is committed to life-long learning. The National Qualifications Framework (NQF) is a strategy in response to these demands. It provides a framework within which the South African Qualifications system is constructed, representing a national effort at integrating education and training. The NQF is the set of principles and guidelines by which records of learner achievement are registered to enable national recognition of acquired skills and knowledge, thereby ensuring an integrated system that encourages life-long learning.

What is the purpose of a Workplace Skills Plan (WSP)?
The Workplace Skills Plan serves to structure the type and amount of training for the year ahead, and is based on the skills needs of the organisation. A good WSP should consider current and future needs, taking into account gaps identified through a skills audit, the performance management system, succession planning initiatives, and any new process or technology changes planned for the year.

Management discusses the company’s goals with employees who in turn commit to the process of achieving these goals. Management gets the opportunity to discover talent as well as skills that they did know that they had.

What is an Annual Training Report (ATR)?
Basically this report consists of all attendance registers, proof of expenditure, training provider used in this report the SETA can establish whether training was done or is in the process of being done.

What is a Unit Standard?
The standard in the NQF system is held in the Unit Standard. A Unit Standard is the smallest unit that can be credited to a learner. Unit Standards can stand alone, but are generally part of a Qualification. A cluster of Unit Standards, including fundamental learning, core learning and elective learning, form a full Qualification.

What is a credit?
Credits are a measure of the notional hours or learning time that it would take the average learner to meet the prescribed outcomes. This includes contact time, structured learning, workplace learning, assesment and self-study. (10 notional hours = 1 credit.)

What is RPL?
The Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL) is a process through which formal, non-formal and informal learning are measured, mediated for recognition across different contexts and certified against the requirements for credit, access, inclusion or advancement in the formal education and training system or workplace. (Source: National Policy for the Implementation of RPL: par 30). The aim is to make it possible to obtain formal recognition for knowledge gained throughout life, such as in workplaces and own reading or experiences. The RPL process also entails providing support to a candidate to ensure that knowledge is discovered and displayed in terms of a relevant qualification registered on the National Qualifications Framework (NQF).

Who is SAQA (South African Qualifications Authority)?
The functions of SAQA, and the ambit of its authority, are set out in Section 13 of the National Qualifications Framework Act 67 of 2008. Any person or body considering taking legal action, and citing SAQA as a respondent thereto, in circumstances where SAQA is not the decision-maker of the impugned decision, is required to have regard to the jurisdiction. SAQA should only be cited if it has a material and sufficient interest in the outcome of the legal action

What is Credit Accumulation Transfer (CAT)?
Credit Transfer: This is the process where learners are able to register learning outcomes achieved in one qualification/part qualification at one date and have them counted towards another qualification/part qualification at a later date. Credit Transfer operates between qualifications/part qualifications, but more importantly between organisations or sectors. Credit Accumulation: This is the process where learners are able to register learning outcomes achieved in one qualification/part qualification at one date and have them counted towards the full qualification/part qualification at a later date. Credit Accumulation takes place within sub-systems, for example subject, programme, department, faculty, Institution, awarding body, educational sector, occupational sector, and country. In a full CAT system, these two processes are integrated, so that the credit which is accumulated within one sub-system may first have been transferred from another sub-system.

What is a SETA?
SETA, or Sector Education and Training Authority, is a vocational skills training organization in South Africa. Each SETA is responsible for managing and creating learnerships, internships, unit-based skills programmes, and apprenticeships within its jurisdiction. Every industry and occupation in South Africa is covered by one of the SETAs.